Bernstein Conference on Computational Neuroscience (BCCN 2009)

The Bernstein Conference on Computational Neuroscience (BCCN) is an annual meeting of researchers working in Computational Neuroscience and Neurotechnology. It has grown out of the Symposium of the German National Bernstein Network for Computational Neuroscience, which has been held since 2005. Now in its 5th year, organized by the Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies (FIAS), it has been opened as an international conference.

We expect around 300 international participants from the areas of Cognitive Science, Neuroscience, Computer Science, Physics, Machine Learning, Mathematics, Engineering and related fields. Selected abstracts will be published in the journal Frontiers in Computational Neuroscience. Best posters, talks, and demonstrations will be awarded with a total sum of 1500 Euros (supported by the Deutsche Telekom Laboratories).

The meeting is open for contributions from all relevant areas of computational neuroscience including, but not limited to: learning and plasticity, sensory processing, motor control, reward system, brain computer interface, neural encoding and decoding, decision making, information processing in neurons and networks, dynamical systems and recurrent networks, and neurotechnology. This year’s meeting will have an emphasis on all aspects of vision.

30 September – 2 October
Goethe University
Frankfurt am Main, Germany

3 October, 2009
Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies
Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Abstract submission opened: 4 May 2009
Abstract submission deadline: 31 May 2009
Demonstration proposals deadline: 15 June 2009
Notification of acceptance: 13 July 2009
Early registration closes: 15 August 2009

Jozsef Fiser (Brandeis)
Wulfram Gerstner (EPFL)
Amiram Grinvald (Weizmann)
Gilles Laurent (Caltech)
Klaus Obermayer (BCCN Berlin)
Mriganka Sur (MIT)

General Chair: Jochen Triesch
Program Chairs: Jorg Lucke, Gordon Pipa, Constantin Rothkopf
Demonstrations Chair: Cornelius Weber
Publications Chair: Junmei Zhu
Finance Chair: Cornelius Weber
Publicity Chair: Prashant Joshi
PhD Student-Symposium Chair: Cristina Savin
Local Arrangements Chair: Gaby Schmitz
IT Support: Alexander Achenbach, Marc Henniges, Thomas Weisswange

We are looking forward to welcoming you in Frankfurt!